February 14, 2017

SEC Academic Conference at MSU Features Speakers from Government Agencies, SEC Institutions

Mississippi State University is hosting the event that will feature researchers and academic leaders representing all 14 SEC institutions.
Mississippi State University is hosting the event that will feature researchers and academic leaders representing all 14 SEC institutions.

By: Allison Matthews (Mississippi State University)
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

More than 60 academic and governmental researchers will participate in next month’s SEC Academic Conference as speakers and panelists when the SEC institutions come together to discuss “The Future of Water.”

Mississippi State University is hosting the March 27-28 event that will feature researchers and academic leaders representing all 14 SEC institutions. Governmental organizations, including the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Geological Survey, and Environmental Protection Agency, also will be represented, among others, including Mississippi’s Delta Council.

“The Future of Water: Regional Collaboration on Shared Climate, Coastlines and Watersheds” is the theme of this year’s conference that will focus on research collaboration. For the complete agenda and registration, visit www.secconference.msstate.edu.

Headlined by best-selling author John M. Barry, former National Geographic executive environment editor Dennis Dimick, and University of California, Irvine, professor and NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory senior water scientist Jay Famiglietti, the event is expected to engage experts on a variety of water resource topics.

The program includes:

Carmen AgouridisUniversity of Kentucky
William AndreenUniversity of Alabama
Beth BakerMississippi State University
Eban BeanUniversity of Florida
Bennett BeardenUniversity of Alabama
Diane BoellstorffSERA-43, Texas A&M University
Eve BrantleyAuburn University
Mark CallahanUniversity of Georgia
Edward ClarkNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Denise DeLormeLouisiana State University
Baolin DengUniversity of Missouri
Jim DobrowolskiUSDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Jamie DyerMississippi State University
Heather ElliotUniversity of Alabama
Isabel EscobarUniversity of Kentucky
Susana FerreiraUniversity of Georgia
William (Bill) FordUniversity of Kentucky
Laurie FowlerUniversity of Georgia
Kathryn FrankUniversity of Florida
Christopher FuhrmannMississippi State University
Scott GainU.S. Geological Survey
David GattieUniversity of Georgia
Keith GoyneUniversity of Missouri
Earl GreeneU.S. Geological Survey
Gnaneswar GudeMississippi State University
Amanda GumbertUniversity of Kentucky
Scott HagenLouisiana State University
Brian Haggard University of Arkansas
Bill HerndonMississippi State University
Blake HudsonLouisiana State University
Richard IngramMississippi State University
Matthew InterisMississippi State University
Fouad JaberTexas A&M University
Catherine JanasieUniversity of Mississippi
Jeff JohnsonMississippi State University
Christine KleinUniversity of Florida
Scott KnightUniversity of Mississippi
Ron LacewellTexas A&M University
Venkat LakshmiUniversity of South Carolina
Dayton LambertUniversity of Tennessee
Craig LandryUniversity of Georgia
Eugene LeBoeufVanderbilt University
Bruce McCarlTexas A&M University
Robert MoorheadMississippi State University
Chip MorganDelta Council
James MorrisUniversity of South Carolina
Rafael Muñoz-CarpenaUniversity of Florida
John Nielsen-GammonTexas A&M University
Lindell OrmsbeeUniversity of Kentucky
Jimmy PalmerEnvironmental Protection Agency (retired)
Prem ParajuliMississippi State University
Joel PazMississippi State University
Ben ScaggsEPA Gulf of Mexico Program
Stephanie Showalter-OttsUniversity of Mississippi
Puneet SrivastavaAuburn University
Cristiane SurbeckUniversity of Mississippi
LaDon SwannAuburn University
Chris Thomas Environmental Protection Agency
John TracyTexas A&M University
Robert TwilleyLouisiana State University
Kevin WagnerTexas A&M University
Ranil WickramasingheUniversity of Arkansas
Nicole WilkinsonNorth Carolina Urban Water Consortium
Chris WilsonUniversity of Tennessee

“This conference will bring together the best of the best in the SEC doing water research,” said Daniel Petrolia, an MSU associate professor of agricultural economics who is part of the conference organizing committee. “We will tackle some of the most pressing water issues facing the Southeast, the U.S. and the world,” Petrolia added.

Increased climate variability and water demand are bringing water issues to the forefront of research discussion, conference organizers said. Drought, declines in aquifers used for irrigation, and sea-level rise are among core topics of interest. The conference is designed to stimulate communication and collaboration toward sustainable and resilient water resource management in the Southeast, with overarching themes to include shared inland waters and aquifers, coastlines, climate and regional policy.

The SEC Academic Conference represents an expanded slate of academic programming currently supported by the Southeastern Conference. The on-campus event is expected to showcase SEC university research in areas of critical importance within the region and around the nation. SECU is the academic initiative of the SEC, and it serves as the primary mechanism through which the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of SEC universities are supported and advanced.