April 19, 2020

2020 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Have Been Announced

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

There are approximately 14,000 full-time, tenured faculty in the SEC, and we are thrilled 14 are being named winners of the 2020 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards. First presented in 2012 and selected by the SEC Provosts, these awards honor one individual from each SEC member university who has excelled in teaching – particularly at the undergraduate level – and research.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey has said, “Through the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards we have a unique opportunity to recognize and encourage the work of outstanding faculty members on our campuses. Although we have chosen to honor 14, we know they are truly representative of all SEC faculty.”

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners will each receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in late April.


Dr. Subha Chakraborti, Professor of Statistics – University of Alabama

Marlon Blackwell, FAIA,  Distinguished Professor in Architecture – University of Arkansas

Dr. Douglas Martin, Professor of Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology – Auburn University

Dr. Charlie Hailey, Professor of Architecture  – University of Florida

Dr. Lillian Eby, Professor of Psychology – University of Georgia

Dr. Everett McCovey, Professor of Voice – University of Kentucky

Dr. Willis Delony, Boyd Professor of Piano and Jazz Studies – Louisiana State University

Dr. Alan Jones, Professor of Emergency Medicine – University of Mississippi

Dr. Renee Clary, Professor of Geology – Mississippi State University

Dr. Anthony Lupo, Professor of Atmospheric Science – University of Missouri

Dr. Gail Barnes, Professor of Music Education – University of South Carolina

Dr. Leon Tolbert, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science – University of Tennessee

Dr. J.N. Reddy, Professor in Mechanical Engineering – Texas A&M University

Dr. Tracy Sharpley-Whiting, Gertrude Conaway Distinguished Professor of Humanities – Vanderbilt  University