February 22, 2023

2023 Swim & Dive Scholar-Athletes of the Year Announced

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference announced the 2023 Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athletes of the Year in conjunction with the 2023 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships.

Derek Maas of Alabama was selected as the 2023 SEC Men’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Maas, a graduate student from Holland, Mich., is currently pursuing his MBA after earning his undergraduate degree in biology. He has a 4.0 grade point average in both degrees. He received All-American honors in both breaststroke events in 2020 and in the 200 and 400 medley relays in 2021. Maas is a three-time member of the Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll. He was also named a CSCAA Scholar All-American and a CoSIDA Academic All-American twice in his career.

Chloe Stepanek of Texas A&M was named the 2023 Women’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Stepanek is a junior from Northport, N.Y., and has a 4.0 grade point average in biomedical sciences. Stepanek is a CSCAA Scholar All-American as well as a six-time CSCAA All-American. She has also been named to the Athletic Director Honor Roll, the Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll and the First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll. Stepanek holds the school record in the 200 free (1:42.40), the eighth-fastest time in program history in the 50 free (22.26) and the fourth fastest in the 100 free (47.78). She has also earned A&M Most Valuable Swimmer as well as a spot on the 2021 and 2022 All-SEC Second Team and the 2021 SEC All-Freshman Team. Stepanek qualified for the 2021 and 2024 U.S. Olympic Swimming Trials.