May 6, 2016

Beers, Karam Named SEC Community Service Award Winners

Alabama gymnast Lauren Beers and Texas A&M track athlete Wade Karam are the 2015-16 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year
Alabama gymnast Lauren Beers and Texas A&M track athlete Wade Karam are the 2015-16 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

University of Alabama gymnast Lauren Beers and Texas A&M University track athlete Wade Karam have been named the 2015-16 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year, Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Thursday.

Beers and Karam were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities. Each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.

“SEC student-athletes are as active in their communities as they are accomplished in athletic competition and academic endeavors,” said Sankey.  “Lauren Beers and Wade Karam epitomize the commitment to a well-rounded college experience and they truly represent all that can be achieved by student-athletes in the Southeastern Conference.  I congratulate them and the universities they represent on this prestigious recognition.”

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship is named for former Associate Commissioner Brad Davis.  Davis succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006.  He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.

In addition, the recipients for the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award from the other Conference schools will receive a $5,000 scholarship, provided by the SEC.

Lauren Beers, Gymnastics, Alabama:

• RISE Center Volunteer – hosted children in gymnastics facility to allow them to play on equipment
• Project Angel Tree – gymnastics team point of contact for purchasing gifts and a night of snacks and games
• Druid City Regional Hospital Cancer Center – spent time with cancer patients while they received treatment
• ReadBAMARead – promoted childhood literacy by engaging students at reading events
• Shut Out Human Trafficking Campaign – participated in video campaign to bring awareness to this issue
• Northport Funeral Service Day – interacted with children and their parents for the afternoon
• The Color Run 5K – participated in setup, assisted during the event and helped with tear down
• Verner Elementary Reader – volunteered for afternoon of reading and spending time with kids
• Habitat for Humanity – helped build homes for less fortunate individuals
• Soup Kitchen – served food, engaged in conversations with the homeless and helped clean facility
• Sprayberry Elementary – read to children and provided encouraging message about reading and growing minds
• “Suds for Sully” – washed cars to raise money for medical bills for a child with physical disorders

Wade Karam, Track & Field, Texas A&M:

• Rotary Youth Leadership Awards Camp Counselor – assisted in setting up tents and activities such as rope course for campers while serving as mentors for students
• The Big Event – worked at local animal shelters, assisted elderly woman level her property and built her a walkway and traveled to homes to help with landscaping and house cleaning
• Special Olympics Volunteer – assisted at Special Olympics Softball Tournament, providing water and encouragement to players
• Pre-School-2nd Grade Volunteer Swim Coach – instructed children in basic swimming skills
• Aggies Can Food Drive – volunteered for event led by student-athletes to benefit the Brazos Valley food bank
• General Community Service – worked with the Houston Aramco Half Marathon finish line, mentoring elementary students on the proper use of helmets and organizing events for local groups
• Event Organizer for the Saudi Aramco Returning Students – helped the leader of the returning students’ activity program plan events in Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
• Lifeguard at Bryan Aquatic Center – worked each summer at aquatic center, helping to rescue two people from drowning

2016 Brad Davis Community Service Post graduate Scholarship Award Winners:

The additional male recipients are: Brandon Allen, Football, Arkansas; Jonathan Wallace, Football, Auburn; Zach Hernandez, Diving, Florida; Kisean Smith, Track & Field, Georgia; Landon Foster, Football, Kentucky; Andrew Korinek, Tennis, LSU; Ben Still, Football, Ole Miss; Taveze Calhoun, Football, Mississippi State; Sam Dickerson, Track & Field, Missouri; Bobby Bittner, Swimming, South Carolina; Charles Merzbacher, Golf, Tennessee; Samuel Reilly, Cross Country, Vanderbilt

The additional female recipients are:  Flavia Araujo, Tennis, Arkansas; Elizabeth Benson, Equestrian, Auburn; Bianca Dancose-Giambattisto, Gymnastics, Florida; Sylvie Brick, Golf, Georgia; Lucy Kirsten Lewis, Tennis, Kentucky; Danielle Stirrat, Swimming, LSU; Madi Osias, Softball, Ole Miss; Ellen Stuart, Volleyball, Mississippi State; Miranda Eubank, Gymnastics, Missouri; Olivia Hassler, Track & Field, South Carolina; Erin Gabriel, Softball, Tennessee; Karlie Mueller, Soccer, Texas A&M; Taylor Elliott, Soccer, Vanderbilt

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was first presented in 1996. Past Leaders of the Year include:

1996 – Tony Johnson, Alabama (football) and Erin Tenbrunsel, Alabama (volleyball)
1997 – Tim Lanier, LSU (baseball) and Andrea Bullock, Vanderbilt (golf)
1998 – Walker Jones, Ole Miss (football) and Nicole Lees, Alabama (soccer)
1999 – BJ McKie, South Carolina (basketball) and Carrie Kuhnell, Kentucky (soccer)
2000 – Brett Millican, Georgia (football) and Brooke Riley, Ole Miss (soccer)
2001 – Lance Jones, Ole Miss (basebal) and Gabby Fuchs, Florida (gymnastics)
2002 – Eric vanGoethem, Auburn (swimming) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics)
2003 – Brett Kirouac, Georgia (football) and Kara Lawson, Tennessee (basketball)
2004 – Michael Boynton, South Carolina (basketball) and Virginia Pate, Georgia (swimming & diving)
2005 – Jordan Fairclotch, LSU (baseball) and Holly Hodges, South Carolina (diving)
2006 – Antoine Huffman, Kentucky (football) and Hannah McLeod, Arkansas (gymnastics)
2007 – Brad Boswell, Tennessee (swimming) and Stacey Stevens, Florida (softball)
2008 – William Brown, South Carolina (football) and Brooke Shinaberry, Vanderbilt (lacrosse)
2009 – Andrew Smith, Auburn (basketball) and Brionna Dickerson, South Carolina (basketball)
2010 – John Egan, Georgia (track and field) and Krissy Voss, Auburn (gymnastics)
2011 – Barnabus Kirui, Ole Miss (track and field) and Bridget Lyons, Georgia (track and field)
2012 – Cullen Doody, LSU (track and field) and Leigh Gilmore, Alabama (track and field)
2013 – Joseph Hladik, Missouri (swimming & diving) and Megan Moir, Kentucky (golf)
2014 – Patric Young, Florida (basketball) and Mackenie McGill, Missouri (gymnastics)
2015 – Chris Conley, Georgia (football) and Grace Trimble, Kentucky (tennis)