October 27, 2022

Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year 2022

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Auburn’s Ryan Kinnane, Ole Miss’ Aiden Britt and Kentucky’s Tori Herman have been named the SEC Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Kinnane, a junior from Andover, Kansas, has a 3.92 grade point average and is pursuing a degree in professional flight. He has been named to the Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society, Athletic Director’s Honor Roll, Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll and was a 2021 USTFCCCA All-Academic Athlete. Kinnane has raced in four meets this season and was Auburn’s top finisher in each meet, including a second place finish at the Live in Lou Classic where he finished the 8k course in 23:21.6.

Britt, a sophomore from Lebanon, Tennessee, has a 4.0 grade point average in mechanical engineering. He has run in all four meets for the Rebels and led Ole Miss with a fourth-place finish at the Memphis Twilight on Sept. 3 at a 4-mile best of 19:56.2. Britt also ran a career-best 8K of 24:31.4 to finish fourth at the SEC Preview on Sept. 16.

Herman, a junior from Hilton Head, South Carolina, holds a 3.810 grade point average in finance. She earned Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll recognition last year and was a member of the Spring Academic Honor Roll earlier this year. She has a pair of top-three finishes this season, including second at the Panorama Farms Invitational with a personal best 5K time of 16:29.2, third-fastest runner in the SEC this year.

Kinnane, Britt and Herman will be recognized at the SEC Cross Country Championships Friday in Oxford, Miss.

2022 SEC Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year:

Ryan Kinnane, Auburn

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year:

Aiden Britt, Ole Miss

Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year:

Tori Herman, Kentucky