April 9, 2020

Dr. Alan Jones Wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Dr. Alan Jones, Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, has been named winner of the 2020 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Mississippi, the SEC announced Thursday, April 9.

A medical doctor whose research interests focus on sepsis, life-threatening infections and critical care, Dr. Jones has garnered more than $27 million in extramural grants for research that has been continuously funded since 2003. He has chaired the Department of Emergency Medicine since 2013 and has trained and mentored hundreds of students, from undergraduates to medical residents and fellows.

“Dr. Alan Jones is an active teacher, beloved mentor and an accomplished researcher with an international reputation who provides tireless service to his peers and the community,” said Dr. Noel Wilkin, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at the University of Mississippi. “As chair in the UM Medical Center, he has accomplishments that place him among the most renowned faculty at research universities and the most renowned clinician scientists at medical schools.”

To receive an SEC achievement award the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in late April.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Alan Jones.