April 6, 2020

Dr. Lillian Eby Wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Dr. Lillian Eby, Professor of Psychology in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, has been named winner of the 2020 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Georgia, the SEC announced Monday, April 6.

Dr. Eby is one of the world’s leading experts on mentoring relationships, and her ground-breaking research on the potentially harmful aspects of mentoring expanded the field. In June 2019, she was named editor in chief of the Journal of Applied Psychology, the first woman to hold the position, and Dr. Eby is also a sought-after industry expert, having consulted with companies  such as ING, BellSouth and Shell Oil.

“In addition to making a lasting impact on the academic research surrounding mentorship and employee well-being, Dr. Eby is committed to applying her expertise to real-world challenges in businesses and non-profits,” said Dr. S. Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost at the University of Georgia. “She exemplifies the role that faculty members at major research universities play in making a positive impact on society.”

To receive an SEC achievement award the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in late April.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Lillian Eby.