May 20, 2021

Drop, Brown Receive Brad Davis Community Service Award

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (May 20, 2021) – Jessica Drop of the Georgia track & field team and Ole Miss football player Mac Brown have been named the 2020-21 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year, Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Thursday.

Drop and Brown were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities. Each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.

“Jessica and Mac are shining examples of making the world a better place with their dedication to their communities and the classroom,” said Sankey. “To continue their service activities at such a high level during the unique circumstances surrounding Covid-19 speaks to their dedication of the complete SEC student-athlete experience. I congratulate them, their families and the universities they represent on this prestigious recognition.”

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship is named for former Associate Commissioner Brad Davis. Davis succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006. He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.

In addition, the recipients of the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award from the other Conference schools will receive a $5,000 scholarship, provided by the SEC.

Jessica Drop, Georgia, Track & Field

Major: Cellular Biology

· SOUL (Serving Others with Unconditional Love): As Treasurer, involved in organizing the group’s finances, paying back members for service events, and operating the bank account. As a member, participated a in variety of events serving the homeless community, assisted living facilities, children’s afterschool programs and people with disabilities.

· Special Olympics: As Special Events Chair, was in charge of organizing the larger events for the year including prom, baseball game and Easter egg hunt for the children with disabilities. As part of the executive team, helped to organize weekly meetings and assist other members with their events such as social groups with the older athletes and fundraising events. Served as a gymnastic coach for the athletes in which she participated in weekly practices and helped with the state games at the end of winter.

· Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC): As the community service leader of the group, helped organize community service events for the student athletes and outreach to the community. With her connection with Special Olympics, she specifically helped with organizing events and projects to get the student athletes involved with this organization. She participated in events such as Girl Empowerment Day, Spooky Dawgs and drives to collect items for a local homeless shelter.

· Leadership Education and Development (LEAD): This is a group of student athlete leaders who work with successful individuals teaching what it takes to be a leader and preparing for graduate school and beyond. She was partnered with a younger LEAD member with similar career aspirations to help guide them through preparing for life after sports. She also paired with other

student athletes who show promise of becoming leaders and assists them in improving their skills as leaders.

· SEC Female Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year- Indoor Track 2020

· CoSIDA Second Team Academic All-American

· Dean’s List- Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Spring 2020

· Presidential Scholar, Fall 2019, Fall 2020

· USTFCCCA Cross Country All-Academic Team,2018, 2019

Mac Brown, Football, Ole Miss

Majors: Integrated Marketing Communications

· Founder of ALS Awesome Lemonade Stand, which raised over $100,000

· Volunteered as swim coach for the Clownfish Swim Club, an organization for swimmers with special needs

· One on One Kicking – Assisted patients with various injuries and disabilities in the Bridge Care Unit as a kicking and punting instructor

· Served as kicking and punting instructor at the Special Teams Football Academy

· Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC)

· Active as a Community Volunteer

· Served as Rebel Choice Awards Presenter

· SAAC President, 2019-present

· Athletic Director Honor Roll, 2017-2020

· Chancellor Honor Roll, Spring 2020

· Dean Honor Roll, Fall 2018

· Student Athlete of the Month, November 2019

· SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2016-17, 2018-19, 2019-20

· Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalist, 2020

· Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Nominee, 2019

The additional female recipients are: Taylor Morgan, Alabama, Soccer; Elizabeth Pamphile, Arkansas, Volleyball; Justus Perry, Auburn, Softball; Lauren Waidner, Florida, Golf; Lauren Denham, Kentucky, Swimming; Kit Hanley, LSU, Swimming; Bayleigh Scott, Ole Miss, Volleyball; Audrey Honiotes, Mississippi State, Cross Country; Morcquess Oliphant, Missouri, Soccer; Caroline Spence, South Carolina, Swimming; Emily Sykes, Tennessee, Swimming; Rachel Bernardo, Texas A&M, Track & Field; Becky Rossett, Vanderbilt, Soccer

The additional male recipients are: Ben Fuller, Alabama, Golf; Jordan Silver, Arkansas, Football; Jordyn Peters, Auburn, Football; Chantz Sawyers, Florida, Track & Field; Riley King, Georgia, Baseball; Luke Fortner, Kentucky, Football; Matthew Beck, LSU, Baseball; Kobe Jones, Mississippi State, Football; Canten Marriott, Missouri, Wrestling; Spencer Riddle, South Carolina, Football; Andrew Rogers, Tennessee, Tennis; Cagan Baldree, Texas A&M, Football; Isaiah Rice, Vanderbilt, Basketball

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was first presented in 1996. Past Leaders of the Year include:

1996 – Tony Johnson, Alabama (football) and Erin Tenbrunsel, Alabama (volleyball)

1997 – Tim Lanier, LSU (baseball) and Andrea Bullock, Vanderbilt (golf)

1998 – Walker Jones, Ole Miss (football) and Nicole Lees, Alabama (soccer)

1999 – BJ McKie, South Carolina (basketball) and Carrie Kuhnell, Kentucky (soccer)

2000 – Brett Millican, Georgia (football) and Brooke Riley, Ole Miss (soccer)

2001 – Lance Jones, Ole Miss (baseball) and Gabby Fuchs, Florida (gymnastics)

2002 – Eric vanGoethem, Auburn (swimming) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics)

2003 – Brett Kirouac, Georgia (football) and Kara Lawson, Tennessee (basketball)

2004 – Michael Boynton, South Carolina (basketball) and Virginia Pate, Georgia (swimming & diving)

2005 – Jordan Fairclotch, LSU (baseball) and Holly Hodges, South Carolina (diving)

2006 – Antoine Huffman, Kentucky (football) and Hannah McLeod, Arkansas (gymnastics)

2007 – Brad Boswell, Tennessee (swimming) and Stacey Stevens, Florida (softball)

2008 – William Brown, South Carolina (football) and Brooke Shinaberry, Vanderbilt (lacrosse)

2009 – Andrew Smith, Auburn (basketball) and Brionna Dickerson, South Carolina (basketball)

2010 – John Egan, Georgia (track and field) and Krissy Voss, Auburn (gymnastics)

2011 – Barnabus Kirui, Ole Miss (track and field) and Bridget Lyons, Georgia (track and field)

2012 – Cullen Doody, LSU (track and field) and Leigh Gilmore, Alabama (track and field)

2013 – Joseph Hladik, Missouri (swimming & diving) and Megan Moir, Kentucky (golf)

2014 – Patric Young, Florida (basketball) and Mackenie McGill, Missouri (gymnastics)

2015 – Chris Conley, Georgia (football) and Grace Trimble, Kentucky (tennis)

2016 – Wade Karam, Texas A&M (track) and Lauren Beers, Alabama (gymnastics)

2017 – Eric Freeman, Tennessee (baseball) and Maya Evans, South Carolina (track & field)

2018 – Wesley Curles, Auburn (track & field) and Grace McLaughlin, Florida (gymnastics)

2019 – Sam Ahrenholz, Florida (track & field) and Megan Rauh, Auburn (equestrian)

2020 – Cody Markel, Vanderbilt (football) and Ann Elizabeth Tebow, Texas A&M (equestrian)