May 26, 2020

Mays, Seidt are McWhorter Scholar-Athletes of the Year

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (May 26, 2020) – LSU men’s basketball member Skylar Mays and Kentucky swimmer Asia Seidt have been named the 2019-20 Southeastern Conference H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Tuesday.

The two were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities and each will receive a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship.

“Asia and Skylar are outstanding representatives of student-athletes from across the SEC. They made a commitment to the total student-athlete experience, which resulted in their excellence in competition and in the classroom,” Sankey said. “The H. Boyd McWhorter Award is the highest honor earned by a student-athlete in the SEC and I congratulate both of them along with their families and universities on their outstanding achievements.”

Mays graduated in pre-med/kinesiology and was named the CoSIDA Basketball Academic All-America of the Year in 2020. He was also named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in both 2019 and 2020 seasons. He was a first team All-SEC selection after averaging 16.7 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 1.8 steals in 2020.

Mays finished in the top 10 after four years in nine LSU career categories. He is the fourth player in the Southeastern Conference since 1992-93 to finish his career with at least 1,600 points-400 rebounds-300 assists and 200 steals. He is the only player in the SEC since 1992-93 to average in a season 17.5 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.0 assists and shoot 40 percent from three-point range in conference play.

The senior from Baton Rouge, La., was also a member of the SEC Community Service Team.

Seidt is a 21-time All-American, the most in program history. She is a four-year NCAA Championship qualifier and recipient of the prestigious NCAA Elite 90 Award, given to the student-athlete with the highest GPA at their respective sport’s national championship.

The senior from Louisville, Ky., who maintains a 4.0 grade point average in kinesiology, was named 2019 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in swimming and diving. She is a four-time SEC gold medalist and three-year member of the All-SEC First Team.

Seidt is a both a CoSIDA and CSCAA Academic All-American, as well as a recipient of the Arthur Ashe Female Sports Scholar of the Year. She is a member of the UK Athletics Society of Character and has volunteered over 200 hours to community service, including The Hope Center, Kentucky Aquatics and Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Bluegrass

The 13 male finalists: Zane Waddell, Alabama (Swimming & Diving); William Schilleci, Auburn (Baseball); Kirby McMullen, Florida (Baseball); Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia (Football); Glen Brown, Kentucky (Swimming and Diving); Andrew Raspo, Ole Miss (Track & Field); John Mitchell Storm, Mississippi State (Basketball); Connor Flynn, Missouri (Wrestling); William Riggs, South Carolina (Swimming & Diving); Nicholas Mascia, Tennessee (Baseball); Benjamin Walker, Texas A&M (Swimming & Diving); Caleb Peart, Vanderbilt (Football).

The 13 female finalists: Bailey Hemphill, Alabama (Softball); Tamara Kukendall, Arkansas (Track & Field); Bailey Nero, Auburn (Swimming & Diving); Victoria Bindi, Florida (Swimming & Diving); Eleni Christofi, Georgia (Tennis); Anna Zwiebel, LSU (Volleyball); Emily Stroup, Ole Miss (Volleyball); MaKayla Waldner, Mississippi State (Soccer); Jordan Roundtree, Missouri (Basketball); Mikayla Shields, South Carolina (Volleyball); Aubrey Leach, Tennessee (Softball); Raena Eldridge, Texas A&M (Swimming & Diving); Kendall Derry, Vanderbilt (Track & Field).

Past recipients:

1986 – John Young, Tennessee (track) and Virginia Diederich, Georgia (swimming)

1987 – Jeff Noblin, Ole Miss (football) and Julie Estin, Alabama (gymnastics)

1988 – Danny Hoskins, Ole Miss (football) and Linda Leith, Georgia (swimming)

1989 – Mikael Olander, LSU (track) and Deanne Burnett, Georgia (swimming)

1990 – Burke Masters, Mississippi State (baseball) and Janice Kerr, Florida (gymnastics)

1991 – Al Parker, Georgia (tennis) and Patty Wiegand, Tennessee (track and cross country)

1992 – Jeff Laubenthal, Alabama (baseball) and Jenifer Kleyn, Auburn (volleyball)

1993 – Lang Wiseman, Tennessee (basketball) and Aimee York, Mississippi State (volleyball)

1994 – Peter Duitsman, South Carolina (soccer) and Tammy Newlon, Mississippi State (basketball)

1995 – Michael Blanchard, LSU (football) and April Ecke, Mississippi State (cross country)

1996 – Martin Nyberg, LSU (swimming) and Michelle Palmisano, Vanderbilt (basketball)

1997 – Andrew DeVooght, Georgia (swimming) and Meredith Willard, Alabama (gymnastics)

1998 – Jeremy Jackson, Mississippi State (baseball) and Shani Abshier, South Carolina (volleyball)

1999 – Jeff Zurcher, Kentucky (football) and Jessica Field, Arkansas (volleyball)

2000 – Joey Pitts, Georgia (tennis) and Lisette Lee, LSU (golf)

2001 – Scott Westerfield, Mississippi State (football) and Kim Black, Georgia (swimming)

2002 – Trey Dyson, South Carolina (baseball) and Tiffany Woolley, Arkansas (softball)

2003 – Matt Bonner, Florida (basketball) and Kristin Sterner, Alabama (gymnastics)

2004 – Caesar Garcia, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Lauren Imwalle, Alabama (soccer)

2005 – Rob Robertson, Ole Miss (football) and Lauryn McCalley, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2006 – Rudy Niswanger, LSU (football) and Sarah Lowe, Florida (basketball)

2007 – Emeel Salem, Alabama (baseball) and Erika Schneble, Vanderbilt (track & field)

2008 – Joseph Sykora, Alabama (golf) and Kristen Hastrup, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2009 – Bram ten Berge, Ole Miss (tennis) and Christine Magnuson, Tennessee (swimming & diving)

2010 – Jordan Anderson, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Phoebe Wright, Tennessee (track & field)

2011 – Dan Mazzaferro, Auburn (swimming & diving) and Erica Meissner, Auburn (swimming & diving)

2012 – Michael Roth, South Carolina (baseball) and Wendy Trott, Georgia (swimming & diving)

2013 – Barrett Jones, Alabama (football) and Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky (track & field/cross country)

2014 – Cory Whitsett, Alabama (golf) and Shannon Vreeland, Georgia (swimming)

2015 – Nathanael Franks, Arkansas (track & field) and Maddie Locus, Georgia (swimming)

2016 – Forrest Gamble, Ole Miss (golf) and Haylie McCleney, Alabama (softball)

2017 – Anton McKee, Alabama (swimming) and Sarah Gibson, Texas A&M (swimming)

2018 – Parker Henry, Tennessee (football) and Kelly Quinn, LSU (volleyball)

2019 – Nathan Hite, Texas A&M (track & field) and Kristin Quah, Vanderbilt (bowling)