January 8, 2014

Newman Named 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Award Winner from Mississippi State

By: Bryant Welbourne
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

James C. Newman, Jr. is the W.L. Giles Distinguished Professor at Mississippi State University and the Richard H. Johnson Chair in Aerospace Engineering. Dr. Newman received his PhD in Engineering Mechanics from the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1974 and worked for the NASA Langley Research Center for 37 years. He joined the Aerospace Engineering faculty at MSU in the fall of 2001. Dr. Newman received the John W. Lincoln Medal from the U.S. Air Force in 2001. In his career, Newman has published 175 scientific research journal articles, 146 scientific conference papers, and has given 165 presentations addressing stress analysis, fatigue, fatigue-crack growth and fracture of materials used in commercial and military aircraft and rotorcraft fleets in the United States and worldwide.