March 22, 2021

2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Have Been Announced

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

There are approximately 14,000 full-time, tenured faculty in the SEC, and we are thrilled 14 are being named winners of the 2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards. First presented in 2012 and selected by the SEC Provosts, these awards honor one individual from each SEC member university who has excelled in teaching – particularly at the undergraduate level – and research.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey has said, “Through the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards we have a unique opportunity to recognize and encourage the work of outstanding faculty members on our campuses. Although we have chosen to honor 14, we know they are truly representative of all SEC faculty.”

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners will each receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in April. Faculty award announcements began on March 22. A full list of winners is below and online HERE.

2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Award Winners

Dr. Catherine Roach, Professor of Cultural and Gender Studies, University of Alabama

Dr. Scot Burton, Distinguished Professor in Marketing, University of Arkansas

Dr. Mona El-Sheikh, Professor in Human Development and Family Science, Auburn University

Dr. José Fortes, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Florida

Dr. Peggy Ozias-Akins, Distinguished Research Professor of Horticulture, University of Georgia

Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya, Professor of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Kentucky

Dr. George Voyiadjis, Boyd Professor of Engineering in the College of Engineering, Louisiana State University

Dr. Greg Tschumper, Professor of Chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts, University of Mississippi

Dr. Dipangkar Dutta, Professor of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Arts and Sciences, Mississippi State University

Dr. Kenneth Sher, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Psychological Sciences in the College of Arts and Science, University of Missouri

Dr. Mark Weist, Professor of Clinical-Community and School Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences, University of South Carolina

Dr. Gregory Stuart, Chancellor’s Professor in Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Tennessee

Dr. Karen Wooley, University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry in the College of Science, Texas A&M University

Dr. James Crowe, Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology in the School of Medicine, Vanderbilt University