March 29, 2021

SEC Announces Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya Wins 2021 Faculty Achievement Award for University of Kentucky

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 29, 2021) – Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya, Professor of Chemical and Materials Engineering in the College of Engineering, has been named winner of the 2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Kentucky, the SEC announced on Monday.

Dr. Bhattacharyya is fueled by his desire to create clean water through advanced membranes and other separation technologies and to educate students. A fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, he has nine U.S. patents with students and received Kentucky’s highest education award in three different decades. He directs the Center of Membrane Sciences and has 34 book chapters and two books to his credit, along with hundreds of refereed publications.

“Throughout the course of his more than 50-year career at the University of Kentucky, Dr. Bhattacharyya has had a seminal impact on the fields of environmental engineering and membrane science,” said Dr. David Blackwell, Provost at Kentucky. “At the heart of his work is his unwavering commitment to undergraduate and graduate education.”

To receive an SEC achievement award the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in April.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya.