March 31, 2021

SEC Announces Dr. Greg Tschumper Wins 2021 Faculty Achievement Award for University of Mississippi

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 31, 2021) – Dr. Greg Tschumper, Professor of Chemistry in the College of Liberal Arts, has been named winner of the 2021 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Mississippi, the SEC announced on Wednesday.

Dr. Tschumper joined the Mississippi faculty in 2001, and his research interests are in weak chemical interactions that play a vital role in a host of chemical, physical and biological processes. He is an expert in the development of electronic structure techniques to describe weak intermolecular interactions and clusters, and he is a full member of Sigma Xi, the scientific research honor society.

“Dr. Tschumper is an outstanding member of our community of scholars, and this honor is a reflection of his many accomplishments. He is an internationally recognized researcher in the fields of physical chemistry and computational quantum chemistry and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science,” said Dr. Noel Wilkin, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at the University of Mississippi. “Beyond his research accomplishments and contributions to the scientific community, he is an excellent leader of the department of chemistry and biochemistry, is a stellar teacher, has been awarded the Cora Lee Graham Award for Outstanding Teacher of Freshmen and has been awarded the university’s Faculty Achievement Award.”

To receive an SEC achievement award, the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced in April.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Greg Tschumper.