March 21, 2022

SEC Announces Dr. Jeannie Whayne Wins 2022 Faculty Achievement Award for University of Arkansas

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Dr. Jeannie Whayne, University Professor of History in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, has been named winner of the 2022 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Arkansas, the SEC announced on Monday.

Dr. Whayne is a specialist in agricultural and southern history. Her research focuses on the lower Mississippi River Valley and the interplay of social and economic history with environmental change, agricultural development, and race relations. Her most recent book, Delta Empire: Lee Wilson and the Transformation of Agricultural in the New South, explored the transformation of the plantation system in the twentieth century South, concluding observations about the emergence of portfolio plantations in the early 21st century. She is a Fellow of the Agricultural History Society, a distinguished lecturer with the Organization of American Historians, and a recipient of two lifetime achievement awards. Dr. Whayne has earned every teaching award bestowed by the university and her commitment to the state includes teaching online licensure courses for educators and serving as president of a number of societies and associations.

“Dr. Whayne is widely respected among her peers, has long promoted student success and works diligently to increase access for underserved students,” said Dr. Terry Martin, Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at Arkansas. “Her scholarship has been critical in helping us understand one of the most sensitive and important areas of American politics and society. She sets the standard for insightful research, influential teaching and mentorship and service to the academy.”

To receive an SEC achievement award the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced later this month.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Jeannie Whayne.