March 24, 2022

SEC Announces Dr. Rob Rockhold Wins 2022 Faculty Achievement Award for University of Mississippi

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Dr. Rob Rockhold, Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology in the School of Medicine, has been named winner of the 2022 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for the University of Mississippi, the SEC announced on Thursday.

Dr. Rockhold is the deputy chief academic officer at the University of Mississippi Medical Center where his research interests include biomedical education enhancement and drug abuse. He has led advancements in the training of students and innovations in curriculum development. Dr. Rockhold is a fellow of the Academy of Pharmacology Educators, and his many honors include awards for excellence in research, teaching, community engagement, and promotion of diversity in education. Since 2000, he has served on the advisory committee for the Jackson Heart Study-Undergraduate Training Center program for students historically underrepresented in STEM disciplines at Tougaloo College in Jackson, Mississippi.

“Since coming to the medical center, Dr. Rockhold has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to enabling educational opportunity for students, particularly those underrepresented in science and medicine,” said Dr. Noel Wilkin, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at the University of Mississippi. “He has dedicated his life to educational innovation with significant positive impacts, including his Base Pair high school student mentoring program. Students in the program, while still in high school, have amassed more than 450 citations as presenters or in publications. Dr. Rockhold’s credentials embody his commitment to educational advancement for all.”

To receive an SEC achievement award, the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced later this month.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Rob Rockhold.