March 25, 2022

SEC Announces Dr. Steve Demarais Wins 2022 Faculty Achievement Award for Mississippi State University

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Dr. Steve Demarais, who holds the Taylor Endowed Chair in Applied Big Game Research and Instruction, has been named winner of the 2022 SEC Faculty Achievement Award for Mississippi State University, the SEC announced on Friday.

Also the Dale H. Arner Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Management, Dr. Demarais’s research focuses on white-tailed deer ecology and the effects of land management decisions in the forested and agricultural landscapes within which they reside. He is also committed to instructing future wildlife professionals in essential concepts in ecology and conservation, having taught undergraduate and graduate courses while also mentoring master’s degree and doctoral degree students. Dr. Demarais is a fellow of The Wildlife Society, has served as associate editor of two international journals, and he is senior author on two seminal technical scientific reviews that helped shape policy. He has published more than 150 peer-reviewed articles and has secured more than $8 million in extramural funding.

“Dr. Demarais is recognized as one of the world’s preeminent scholars on deer ecology and is among the most prolific teaching and research professors in the College of Forest Resources,” said Dr. David Shaw, Provost and Executive Vice President at Mississippi State University. “Through his groundbreaking research and various media platforms, he has educated hundreds of thousands of people on deer management around the globe. At MSU, he is an innovative and pioneering teacher who developed new courses that have become ‘must-take’ on campus. Dr. Demarais has an influence locally, nationally and internationally that is unmatched in his field.”

To receive an SEC achievement award, the faculty member must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching, particularly at the undergraduate level; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally. University winners will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become their campus nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award, which will be announced later this month.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Steve Demarais.