October 7, 2021

SEC Basketball Leadership Council Officers Elected

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Alabama’s Tyler Barnes, South Carolina’s Laeticia Amihere, Texas A&M’s Henry Coleman III and Georgia’s Mikayla Coombs have been elected as officers of the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Councils, it was announced Thursday.

Barnes and Amihere will serve as chairs of the Men’s and Women’s Councils, respectively, while Coleman and Coombs were selected as vice chairs. The four student-athletes were chosen by their peers following a recent meeting of the SEC Basketball Leadership Council.

Barnes is in his third year as a member of the SEC Basketball Leadership Council, while Amihere and Coombs have served for two years, and Coleman is in his first year. These officers will participate in various meetings throughout the year to provide feedback to Athletics Directors, Senior Woman Administrators and Faculty Athletics Representatives. They will also engage with Conference leadership on legislative proposals during the SEC Spring Meetings.

The council consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the Leadership Council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience and student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.

Members of the 2021-22 SEC Men’s Basketball Leadership Council are: Tyler Barnes (Alabama), Stanley Umude (Arkansas), Babatunde Akingbola (Auburn), Anthony Duruji (Florida), Jabri Abdur-Rahim (Georgia), Keion Brooks (Kentucky), Spencer Mays (LSU), Austin Crowley (Ole Miss), Iverson Molinar (Mississippi State), Javon Pickett (Missouri), Chico Carter (South Carolina), John Fulkerson (Tennessee), Henry Coleman III (Texas A&M) and Quentin Millora-Brown (Vanderbilt).

Student-athletes serving on the 2021-22 SEC Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are: Megan Abrams (Alabama), Rylee Langerman (Arkansas), Kiyae’ White (Auburn), Zippy Broughton (Florida), Mikayla Coombs (Georgia), Blair Green (Kentucky), Emily Ward (LSU), Donnetta Johnson (Ole Miss), Myah Taylor (Mississippi State), Haley Frank (Missouri), Laeticia Amihere (South Carolina), Tamari Key (Tennessee), Qadashah Hoppie (Texas A&M) and Jordyn Cambridge (Vanderbilt).