September 13, 2019

SEC Basketball Leadership Council To Hold Annual Meeting

Past SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council Members visiting the SEC offices.
Past SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council Members visiting the SEC offices.

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (September 13, 2019) — The Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council will convene for its annual meeting at SEC headquarters Friday and Saturday.

The council consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the Leadership Council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.

Among the agenda items for the group is dinner and a conversation with Commissioner Greg Sankey, a review of NCAA and SEC legislative items, and the 28 student-athletes will also have an opportunity to engage with men’s and women’s basketball officials on rules of the game, student-athlete/referee interaction and careers in officiating. Keyon Dooling, author, motivational speaker and former NBA player, will speak to the group on Saturday on the topic of mental wellness.

The Men’s Basketball Leadership Council and the Women’s Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council, which meets each January.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are:

Men’s Basketball

Tyler Barnes, Alabama

Adrio Bailey, Arkansas

Anfernee McLemore, Auburn

Dontay Bassett, Florida

Rayshaun Hammonds, Georgia

Nathan Sestina, Kentucky

Skylar Mays, LSU

Breein Tyree, Ole Miss

Mitchell Storm, Mississippi State

Mitchell Smith, Missouri

TJ Moss, South Carolina

John Fulkerson, Tennessee

Josh Nebo, Texas A&M

Quentin Millora-Brown, Vanderbilt


Women’s Basketball

Jordan Lewis, Alabama

Jailyn Mason, Arkansas

Kiyae White, Auburn

Kiki Smith, Florida

Ari Henderson, Georgia

Jaida Roper, Kentucky

Jaelyn Richard-Harris, LSU

Milicia Reid, Ole Miss

Myah Taylor, Mississippi State

Jordan Chavis, Missouri

Elysa Wesolek, South Carolina

Kamera Harris, Tennessee

Ciera Johnson, Texas A&M

Jordyn Cambridge, Vanderbilt