January 24, 2024

SEC Faculty Keeps an Eye on AI

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Artificial intelligence and data science experts from across the Southeastern Conference are working to make the SEC a leader in the fast-changing field.

The SEC Artificial Intelligence Consortium is comprised of faculty and staff from each member university and provides collective resources and guidance focused on innovation in technology, specifically artificial intelligence.

The Conference-wide partnership was established by SEC provosts with the goal of bringing artificial intelligence into curriculum and instruction methods while supporting workforce development training. The consortium encourages SEC universities to share resources and ideas across a broad array of disciplines for AI advancement.

It enables SEC universities to allocate curricular materials, certificate and degree program structures, and online presentations of seminars and courses; promote faculty, staff, and student workshops and academic conferences; and seek joint partnerships with industry.

💻  Read More: When AI in Higher Education Means More

Many of these faculty experts have participated in SEC AI Consortium efforts:

  • Texas A&M University’s Lisa M. Perez and other researchers used the University of Florida’s HiPerGator AI Supercomputer to distinguish computing benchmarks.
  • Six members took part in the SEC Generative AI Forum, which openly explored topics around ChatGPT and other software in academia.
  • Auburn University’s Asim Ali and the team at the Biggio Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning helped establish the online course Teaching with AI in the SEC.

The SEC AI Consortium members are listed below and is just one group from the numerous academic programs and services the SEC has supported since 2011.

University of AlabamaBrendan Ames
Jiaqi Gong
University of ArkansasJia Di
Auburn UniversityAsim Ali
Gerry Dozier
Hari Narayanan
University of FloridaMackenzie Donovan
David L. Reed
University of GeorgiaWilliam Vencill
University of KentuckyJames Griffioen
Louisiana State UniversityGerald Baumgartner
University of MississippiRobert E. Cummings
Mississippi State UniversityPeter Ryan
University of MissouriChi-Ren Shyu
University of South CarolinaJeff Savage
University of TennesseeOzlem Kilic
Texas A&M UniversityLisa M. Perez
Vanderbilt UniversityCharreau Bell
Xenofon Koutsoukos