August 26, 2014

SEC Presidents and Chancellors Approve Extension of SEC MBA Case Competition

The SEC MBA Case Competition recognizes the best MBA schools and students in several categories
The SEC MBA Case Competition recognizes the best MBA schools and students in several categories

By: Bryant Welbourne
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

The Presidents and Chancellors of the 14 Southeastern Conference (SEC) universities have approved an extension of the SEC MBA Case Competition through 2017. The decision was made at the annual SEC Spring Meetings.

The SEC MBA Case Competition allows graduate level business school students from conference universities the opportunity to showcase their skills at solving simulated, real-world problems that cover the spectrum of business disciplines. The competition is held on one SEC campus and teams of four MBA students compete for various awards and recognition.

“This competition offers students from across the SEC the opportunity to interact and collaborate in preparation for their careers,” said Dr. J. Michael Hardin, Dean of the Culverhouse College of Commerce at the University of Alabama. The Culverhouse College of Commerce hosted the 2014 SEC MBA Case Competition.

The inaugural SEC MBA Case Competition was held at the University of Missouri in 2013. The University of Florida won the event and went on to repeat as champions at the 2014 competition in Tuscaloosa.

“It is an honor to win this competition amongst a field of very accomplished MBA programs,” said Jason Rife, Associate Director of MBA Career Services at the Hough Graduate School of Business at the University of Florida, following the 2014 competition.

The SEC MBA Case Competition is one of several programs undertaken by the SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. With SECU, the conference sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its 14 member universities.

The 2015 SEC MBA Case Competition will be held at the University of South Carolina, April 9-11. The 2016 competition will be hosted by the University of Arkansas and the 2017 event will take place at the University of Florida.