March 27, 2019

SEC Selects 2019 Faculty Achievement Award Recipients

2019 SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners
2019 SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners

By: SEC Staff
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Faculty members from each SEC university have been named recipients of the 2019 SEC Faculty Achievement Award, SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Wednesday. Now in its eighth year, the program honors one individual from each SEC university who has excelled in teaching – particularly at the undergraduate level – and research.

“Through the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards we have a unique opportunity to recognize and encourage the work of outstanding faculty members on our campuses,” said Sankey. “Although we have chosen to honor 14, we know they are truly representative of all SEC faculty.”

There are approximately 14,000 full-time, tenured faculty members in the SEC, and to be eligible for an achievement award the individual must have achieved the rank of full professor; have a record of extraordinary teaching; and have a record of research that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

Each SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year, to be named in April, receives an additional $15,000 honorarium.

“The 14 members of the SEC have embraced the tri-fold university mission of teaching, research and service with great zeal, and our faculty members are some of the most decorated individuals in academia,” said Dr. Harris Pastides, President of the University of South Carolina and President of the Southeastern Conference. “It is a privilege to be able to recognize their accomplishments, and, on behalf of the entire SEC, I am delighted to offer each of them my sincere congratulations.”

The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are both selected by the SEC Provosts, and they are two foundational programs designed by the SEC to support and promote the academic endeavors and achievements of its students, faculty and administrators.

The 2019 SEC Faculty Achievement Award recipients.