November 21, 2017

SEC Student-Athletes to Participate in Career Tour

SEC student-athletes pose for a picture during the 2016 SEC Career Tour in Atlanta.
SEC student-athletes pose for a picture during the 2016 SEC Career Tour in Atlanta.

By: Bryant Welbourne
SECU (Twitter: @TheSECU)

Twenty-eight current and former Southeastern Conference student-athletes will participate in the SEC Career Tour to be held in Atlanta Nov. 28-30. This marks the second consecutive year the Conference has invited student-athletes from each of its institutions to participate in the career tour leading up to the SEC Football Championship Game.

The group is scheduled to visit the headquarters and meet with executives and talent acquisition staff at several corporations in the Atlanta area including CNN/Turner Broadcasting System, Mercedes-Benz Corporate, the Atlanta Braves organization and Delta Airlines.

Also included on the agenda is a dinner with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey, presentations from former SEC student-athletes Josh Foliart and Beatriz Travalon, an outing at Top Golf, and a visit with children at the Boys & Girls Club of America. The goal of the career tour is to provide exposure for SEC student-athletes who are seeking career opportunities in various fields.

The attendees include Alabama’s Emma Welch (soccer) and Knox Auerbach (men’s swimming and diving); Arkansas’ Rubin Owens (men’s track and field) and Myrna Olaya (women’s tennis); Auburn’s Jeffrey Shaffer, Jr. (baseball) and Alyse Scott (soccer); Florida’s Amanda Cheney (gymnastics) and Nick Uruburu (men’s track and field); Georgia’s Rashad Roundtree (football) and Aliyah Johnson (women’s track and field); Kentucky’s Stuart Ford (men’s soccer), Zoe Collins (women’s golf) and Sophie Babo (women’s soccer); LSU’s Dajour Braxton (men’s cross country/track and field) and Mikiah Brisco (women’s track and field); Ole Miss’ Alex Schneider (softball) and Javon Patterson (football); Mississippi State’s Ross Bell (men’s golf) and Anastasia Rentouli (women’s tennis); Missouri’s Linus Lilliedahl (men’s golf) and Erin Webb (soccer); South Carolina’s Jordyn Augustus (softball); Tennessee’s Jennifer Davis (rowing) and Drew Kelley (men’s track and field); Texas A&M’s Victoria Vidales (softball) and Lindon Victor (men’s track and field); and Vanderbilt’s Kaitlyn Fahrner (soccer) and Jonathan Wynn (football).