2018 - Dr. Marcetta Darensbourg+

    • Dr. Marcetta Darensbourg

      Distringuished Professor of Chemistry

      Texas A&M University

      Marcetta Darensbourg is the Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M University and a leader in developing methods to perfect hydrogen-powered fuel cell technology. Her research focuses on biology-inspired chemistry and the simplest of all molecules – hydrogen – in her laboratory’s search for inexpensive, eco-friendly alternative energy options. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and has held faculty appointments at Vassar College, the State University of New York, Buffalo and Tulane University. In 1995, Dr. Darensbourg became the first woman to receive the American Chemical Society (ACS) Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry Award. She received the 2017 ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry, and that year she was also elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Darensbourg teaches courses in inorganic and organometallic chemistry, and she has directed the dissertations of more than 50 students. She co-wrote the freshman chemistry textbook Chemical Principles, authored 260 refereed papers, co-edited two specialty chemistry books, and has given lectures at many prestigious international conferences.

      2017 - Dr. James Birchler+

    • Dr. James Birchler

      Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences

      University of Missouri

      Dr. James A. Birchler is the Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Missouri. Dr. Birchler’s research interests include the structure and behavior of chromosomes, centromere epigenetics, heterosis, polyploidy and aneuploidy, using maize as the model organism. His laboratory studies the consequences of dosage sensitive gene regulatory mechanisms in multicellular eukaryotes and their implications for the phenotype and evolutionary processes. Dr. Birchler has served on the editorial boards of Genetics, The Plant Cell, and McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology, among others. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, St. Louis Academy of Science and the National Academy of Inventors. Dr. Birchler is also an Einstein Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

      2016 - Dr. Isiah M. Warner+

    • Dr. Isiah M. Warner

      Boyd Professor

      Louisiana State University

      Dr. Isiah M. Warner is a Boyd Professor, Phillip W. West Professor of Chemistry and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor at Louisiana State University. Dr. Warner is considered to be one of the world’s leading experts in analytical applications of fluorescence. In 1984, he received one of the first Presidential Young Investigator Awards from President Ronald Reagan. Dr. Warner’s service to the international chemistry community includes chairing or serving on committees for the National Science Foundation, National Research Council and American Chemical Society, among others. As Chair of LSU’s Department of Chemistry, he has worked to broaden the participation of underrepresented groups. Under Dr. Warner’s leadership, LSU ranks first in the nation in the production of African Americans with doctorate degrees in chemistry and in the percentage of female doctoral graduates in chemistry.

      2015 - Dr. Isabel Gauthier+

    • Dr. Isabel Gauthier

      Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences

      Vanderbilt University

      Dr. Isabel Gauthier is the David K. Wilson Chair of Psychology and Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences at Vanderbilt University. Dr. Gauthier’s research interests include the behavioral and neural study of visual object recognition, especially in domains of perceptual expertise such as faces, letters and musical notation, with implications for disorders like autism and congenital face blindness. Her dissertation research was the first to demonstrate that the behavioral and neural underpinnings of perceptual expertise could be studied in the laboratory using short term training protocols. Dr. Gauthier’s research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the James S. McDonnell Foundation. Gauthier has authored more than 110 peer-reviewed scientific articles, with 50 of these cited at least 50 times. Overall, her publications have been cited more than 12,300 times.

      2014 - Dr. John E. Hall+

    • Dr. John E. Hall

      Arthur C. Guyton Professor

      University of Mississippi

      Dr. John E. Hall is the Arthur C. Guyton Professor and Chair of Physiology and Biophysics, and Director of the Mississippi Center for Obesity Research at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC). Hall’s major research interests include cardiovascular and renal physiology, mechanisms of hypertension, obesity and metabolic disorders. His research has been funded continuously from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute since 1975 and he has been Director of an NIH Program Project grant since 1988. He has authored more than 530 publications and has written or edited 18 books, including the Textbook of Medical Physiology, which is the leading medical physiology textbook and is translated in 14 languages. Hall’s awards include the Distinguished Achievement Award of the American Heart Association Council for High Blood Pressure Research, International Society of Hypertension Franz Volhard Award, and the American Heart Association Novartis Award for Hypertension Research.

      2013 - Dr. Harry (Hap) McSween+

    • Dr. Harry (Hap) McSween

      Chancellor's Professor

      University of Tennessee

      Dr. Harry (Hap) McSween is the Chancellor’s Professor and Distinguished Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Dr. McSween is a graduate of The Citadel (Chemistry, 1967), University of Georgia (MS, Geology, 1969), and Harvard University (PhD, Geology, 1974). He has spent the entirety of the thirty-five years of his professional career as a member of the University of Tennessee’s geoscience faculty, but his research stretches across the solar system. Since 1978 NASA has funded Dr. McSween’s research. He participated in NASA spacecraft missions in 1997 as a member of the science team for the Mars Pathfinder rover and later for the Mars Global Surveyor. He is namesake for asteroid 5223 McSween, an honor bestowed on him by the International Astronomical Union. He has written six books and was a U.S. Air Force pilot during the Vietnam era.

      2012 - Dr. Loch Johnson+

    • Dr. Loch Johnson

      Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs

      University of Georgia

      Dr. Loch Johnson is the Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs at the University of Georgia, as well as a Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor. Dr. Johnson is a specialist in foreign and security affairs. He has worked in the Senate, the House, and the Executive Office of the President. He is the author of more than 200 articles and essays; and the author or editor of 28 books on U.S. national security. He is editor of the journal Intelligence and National Security, and his books include A Season of Inquiry; The Making of International Agreements; America as a World Power; America’s Secret Power; Secret Agencies; Bombs, Bugs, Drugs, and Thugs; and Fateful Decisions: Inside the National Security Council.